Jai Mahavir ji


An exclusive web site dedicated to Jainism

One source for information related to universal message of Jainism and Jain philosophy

Jain Symbols





Mandir Jee
News and views
Make Donations
Kid's world
Jain Groups
Jain's Web Sites

   Guiding features
Contact Us



       Jains Symbols  : -


This flag is hoisted to indicate the Jain's shashan /religion. It has keseria colour.

Jain's Flag

 The Jains flag have five different colors. The red color represents for Siddha, Yellow for Acharya, White for Arihanta, Green for Upadhyaya and Blue for Sadhu. There is a symbol of swastik in the central strip. The three dots above the swastika represent the three jewels of Jainism: Samyak Darshan (Right Faith), Samyak Jnan (Right Knowledge), and Samyak Charitra (Right Conduct).

AUM or OM : - Om is a holy word used in the beginning of many prayers. Aum or Om is also used to set a tune for meditation. Aum represents five supreme souls Arihants, Siddhas(Ashiri), Acharyas, Upadhyaya and munies (sadhu). Thus by taking the first letter of five parameshthies it becomes as follows: - A+A+A+U+M = AUM or"Om"

There are other symbols like Hrim ,Ahrim and Aum-Hrim-Ahrim. These symbols are used for meditation purposes as explained below:- .

Hrim: -It is a seed mantra. It represents invisible sound, infinity and divine energy of all tirthankars. While meditating HRIM one experiences sublimating of 24 Tirthankars.

The AHRIM mantra is pregnant with the vowels and consonants of Sanskrit language.A is the first alphabet and H is the last alphabet of Sanskrit language. In this Mantra sound of all vowels and all consonants are present


AUM-HRIM-ARHIM This is also an ancient mantra that has miraculous and supreme effects over mystical seed mantra and by practicing it one can liberate him/herself from the cycle of birth.


There are eight symbols that are called Ashtamangal

(As per Digambar Traditions)

     1.Umbrella ( chhatra ).

      2. Bell and vase ( Ghanta , Kalasa ) symbolizes all spiritual wealth. It symbolizes completeness of knowledge. Its mouth represents eternity, the throat - losing old mode and the base represents occupying new mod

      3. A whisk made of silver threads with silver handle (Chanwara )

      4. A round shaped pot used for water and sandal ( jhari )

      5. Religious flag ( Dhwaja )

      6. Fan ( Pankha )

     7. Swastika:- symbolizes four destinies; a) human beings, b) heavenly beings, c) hellish beings and d) tiryanchs (rest of the living beings). The root of Swastika is SU+US; SU means benefic and US means existence; so it also represents glory, prosperity, progress and success. 

      8 Darpan: - symbolizes true self. True self is our own soul.  

Ashta Pratiharya:

There  are the eight pratiharyas

  Eight kinds of heavenly signs-Always remains near the Tirthankara:

  These are as shown in the picture:-


Brief description:

1. Throne-Sihashan

2.Eternal voice or 'OM' Divine letter less speech or sound Divya Dhwani

3. A fan like thing made of silk with silver handle always used to give honor to elders (Chanwara )

4. Halo - circle of effulgence around the head of the Arihant ( Bhamandala )

5. Showering of flowers by deities.

6. Musical instruments played by deities .

7. Ashoka tree.

8.Three umbrellas ( chhatra )




Symbol- Parasparopgraho Jivanam


Parasparopgraho Jivanam

This symbol was adopted by all sects of Jainism while commemorating the 2500th anniversary of the nirvana of Lord Mahavira. The outline of the symbol is defined as the universe ( there Loks ). The lower part of the symbol represents the seven hells (Naraki). The middle part of the universe contains the Earth and the planets (Manushyalok). The upper part contains the heavenly abodes (Devlok) of all the celestial beings and abode of the Siddhas (Siddhashila The raised hand with a circle and the word Ahimsa means stop violence in any form. The wheel in the hand shows that if we ignore these and carry on violent activities, then the cycles of birth and death will go on rotating like a wheel. The four arms of the swastika means four Gaties (destinies)- heavenly beings, human beings, animal beings, (including birds, bugs, and plants) and hellish beings. Our aim should be the liberation and not the rebirth. The three dots above the swastika represent the three jewels of Jainism: Samyak Darshan (Right Faith), Samyak Jnan (Right Knowledge), and Samyak Charitra (Right Conduct). We should have all three: right knowledge, right faith, and right conduct together, then only can we achieve the liberation. The right knowledge means having the knowledge that soul and body are separate and that the soul, not the body attains the salvation. The right faith means one must have faith in what is told by Jinas, who were omniscient. The right conducts means that our actions should be void of attachment and hatred. At the very top part of the Jain Universe symbol is a small curved arc. This arc represents the abode of the Siddhas. It is known as the Siddhashila. It is the final resting place of the liberated souls. The dot represents a siddha. In order to achieve this stage, a soul must destroy all attached karmas. Every living being should strive for this state of the Salvation or Liberation. The colors in the back ground are similar as of Jains flag and have the same meaning.


The wheel in the center represents kal charka. Jains believe that time is infinite, without any beginning or end. Time is divided into infinite equal time cycles (Kalchakras). Every time cycle is further sub-divided in two equal halves. The first half is the progressive cycle or ascending order, called Utsarpini. The other half is the regressive cycle or the descending order, called Avasarpini. Every Utsarpini and Avasarpini is divided into six unequal periods called Äräs. During the Utsarpini half cycle, progress, development, happiness, strength, age, body, religious trends, etc. go from the worst conditions to the best. During the Avasarpini half cycle,progress, development, happiness, strength, age, body, religious trends, etc. go from the best conditions to the worst. Presently, we are in the fifth Ara of the Avasarpini phase. When the Avasarpini phase ends the Utsarpini phase begins. This kälchakra repeats again and continues forever. It also shows vegetation, animals, Jain monk and Jain nun. This represents that all souls are equal and they should be treated with equanimity.

The Three Lokas:

At the very middle of alokakasa, there exists human-like lokakasaa having a dimension of 343 rajjus and being contaminated with five types of fluids like Jiva, Pudgala, Dharma, Adharma and kāla. Beginning less and endless, it was generated by itself. It is divided into three parts as mentioned below:
1. Adholoka -its base is similar to vetrāsana (wedge).
2.Madhyaloka -it appears like the upper portion of a standing mrdanga (trumpet),
Urdhva loka -it appears like a standing posture.

for complete details please refer JAINA GEOGRAPHY or click on the following link:


Back   Jainism


                                           Contact JainPushp:
Email:-  jainpushp01@yahoo.com

             copyright 2010      All rights reserved