Jai Mahavir ji

By worshing an idol of a Diety as one worships a hero and by meditation upon his attributes, the same attributes tends to become manifest in him. It is a rule that man's thoughts take the tinge of the things towards his thoughts; are directed and by thinking of the attributes of the Diety , man's spiritual nature is developed and  ultimately reaches the stage where he bigins to realize that the attributes of the Diety are also his attributes.

Thus the worship/ puja of the Diety or Jin Bimb /image, is a mean where one's spitritual nature can be developed.




Mandir Jee
News and views
Make Donations
Kid's world
Jain Groups
Jain's Web Sites

   Guiding features
Contact Us


Dev Darshan and puja 

देव दर्शन --Puja- Samagri  

(Digambar Jains traditions)

  A Jain house holder should get up early in the morning  and recite Namokar mantra at least nine times before starting all other house hold chores.  
The most important element of Jains worship is the daily visit to the temple. Before going to the temple, one should bathe and wear clean clothes
and then one should go to the Jains temple and carry with him/her the rice /samagri.

          After reaching in the compound of the temple one should take off shoes & socks, sleepers, leather belt & purse vault etc and wash his/her hands and feet’s before entering into the temple.

When entering the temple one should recite as follows: -

  "Om jai Neshahi… Om jai Neshahi… Om jai Neshahi "

and ring the bell. Approach near the deity/ idol of Arihanta’s and start offering the prayers like this:-

Om Nameh Sidhebhayam, Om Nameh Sidhebhayam, Om Nameh Sidhebhayam.

Om Jai-Jai-Jai, Namoastu, Namoastu, Namoastu.

Thereafter recite Namokar mantra along with manglacharan at least nine times.

Also recite the names of all the 24 Tirthankars and offer the rice while offering rice recite Para as given bellow :-  

Take Prekarma around the idol thrice and recite prayer as given bellow or any other one one feel like saying: -.

A prayer generally people like is as follows: -


After finishing prayer one should take Gandhodak the holly water collected after Prakshal and apply it on eyelids and forehead etc while doing so one should recite the following shaloka :-

  The meaning of Asht Dravya: -

  Water(Jala): -The pure and clean & clear warm water  प्रासुक जल. I offer you this water for destroying my cycle of life and death. This has not been able to quench my eternal thirst.

Chandana (Sandal wood): -The water mixed with chandan (saffron/sandal wood paste). I offer you this sandalwood to destroy the anger in me, as this has not been able to keep me calm and undisturbed.

Akshata/अक्षत (Rice): -Properly washed unbroken white rice. I offer you this unbroken rice to achieve the non-destructible treasure of joy.

Pushpa/(पुष्प): - The rice / Akshat colored with Saffron paste. I offer you these flowers to destroy lust and passion in my being.

Naivedya/नैवेध  : - The inner white portion of coconut cut into very small cubicles. I offer this naivedya in order to win victory over my passion of greed.

  Dipa (Deep)/दीप  : - The inner white portion of coconut cut into very small cubicles colored with saffron.  I offer you this Dipa in order to destroy the darkness of my delusions.

Dhupa /धूप : -These are pieces of chandan wood. (Also taken as Havan samagri). I offer you this dhupa in order to destroy the eight kind of karmic matter that settles in my being.

Phala/फल  : - These are almonds, clove, cardamom, chironji or dry dates. I offer fruits to achieve the fruit of complete liberation of my soul.

Argha/अर्घ .. (A mixture of all the above mentioned items): - I offer the Argh      ( the mass of the eight substances in order) to get the highest and everlastinghappiness that is Moksha.

Terminology: -

There are basically two types of Puja, i.e prayers: 1 Dravya Puja with symbolic offereings of material object cited above and 2.Bhava Puja . The puja offered with deep feelings and meditaion even without offering of asta dravya

Homage:- Let the whole world be illuminated with the Devine light of soul, And the thirst of all be quenched with the nectar of joy.

 Jalabhishaik: -The bathing of the idols is called Jalabhishaik.

Prakshal: - The cleaning of idol with wet cloth is called Prakshal.

there are baically two type of puja. 1. Dravya (द्रव्य पूजा ) with symbolic offerings of material objects and the 2.bhava puja (भाव पूजा) with deep inner feelings and meditation etc with or without material objects and recitations of pooja sutra, phrases and matra's.

The following are the images that are followed during Puja.


"The root of religion is real belief"

" wealth is for life but life is not for wealth"

 Note :- The words shown in Italic are from Prakrit / Hindi Language.



Back to Jainism 



                            Contact -JainPushp      
                          Email: jainpushp01@yahoo.

                           Copyright 2010   All rights reserved