Jai Mahavir ji

One source for information related to universal message of Jainism and Jain philosophy.


  हे  समस्त लोक  के प्राणियों ! तुम विभ्रमरूपी परदे को समूलतः चीर कर फ़ेंक दो  और यह जो शांतरस से लबालब भरा ज्ञान समुंदर भगवान आत्मा है , उसमें अच्छी तरह सभी एकसाथ ही आकर अन्तर्मगन हो जाओ अर्थार्त अब बाहर आना ही नहीं I  मानो यही बात दुन्दुभिवाध नाम का प्रातिहार्य भी कर रहा है --

              " हे जीवो !  मोह रहित हो कर जिनेन्द्र प्रभु की शरण में जाओ I "






Mandir Jee
News and views
Make Donations
Kid's world
Jain Groups
Jain's Web Sites

   Guiding features
Contact Us




























Tap - तप- (Diksha- दिक्षा) Kalyanak

दिखते हैं जो जग-भोग रंग - रंगीले, ऊपर मीठे अंदर हैं जहरीले I

पुनि-पुनि भोगो में जलना क्या ? बिन ज्ञान जिया तो जीना क्या ?

As the time passes young Tirthankar grows and enjoys the royal kind of comforts. Young Thirthankar being the prince had all comforts of life without even having any urge for anything. But a time come in the life of young Tirthankar that his inner self is not interested in the worldly possessions. At one point of time young Tirthanka due to one or the other cause announces his intention to renounce all worldly possessions and decide to become ascetic. Parents accept his decision. Lokantik Dev’s arrives there and appreciate the action of Tirthankar to renounce the worldly possessions.

The Palki (Carried on the shoulders) a kind of chariot prepared by Kubare is sent to bring Tirthankar to the forest called Tapovan. Human beings carry the chariot for 7 steps and then Vidhyadhars carry it for 7 steps alternatively as no one want to miss the opportunity of toeing the chariot which is considered as very auspicious. There after Devta’s carry the chariot through sky route. After reaching the Tapovan Tirthankar discards all his ornaments and cloths and kesh lochanकेश लोचन (hair plucking) takes place. Tirthankar recites the words “Namah Sidhebhay” being the the supreme teacher (jagad Guru) and begins his diksha.  During diksha Tirthankar has to undergo very hard routine by undergoing meditation and fasting for several days at a stretch. At times he will go to nearby villages for Aahar (taking food from Jain house holder’s) and wherever he takes Aahar five miracles ( Panchascharya)  happened.  On this occasion the Dev’s do the miracle works. These five miracles are 1. Shower of precious stone s and diamonds 2.to play musical sounds. 3. Flow of fragrance wind. 4. Sound of jai jai (jaikara). 5. Shower of flowers from the sky.

Jain muni

   Kevaljnan (Keval Gyan)-Absolute Knowledge Kalyanak


During Tap Tirthankar reaches the stage called Shukla Dhyan and Tirthankar’s soul destroys the four ghatiya karma’s completely and attains the Kevaljnana- Absolute Knowledge. Upon attaining the Kevaljnana the soul gets four qualities called anant (infinite) chatushtay- ( Anant gyan, Anant darshan, Anant Sukh, Anant Virya). Tirthankar’s body raises 5000 dhanush above the ground and gets eight pratiharya.

 This event is celebrated all over with joy and happiness. The land becomes blossom and everyone feel pleasure in their life.       

Indra orders to kubare to set the Samavsarna for Tirthankar for delivering his first sermon. When Bhagwan moves for vihar Dev’s create golden lotus below the feet and Bhagwan without touching them moves through the sky route.  The route remains decorative throughout. The chatra (छत्र), Bhamandal (भामंडल) Chanvar (चंवर) follows him. The Indra’s, and king’s move ahead of Tirthankar. All over the sound of jai jaikar is heard. The dharmchara with bands composed with various kind of musical instruments leads the procession.

Samavsaran of Tirthankar is place where he delivers his discourse and this dharma assembly is called as Samavsaran. In Samavsaran which is created by Celestial angles, accommodate Dev’s Devi’s, human beings and triyanch (all living beings) with equal preference who can listen and understand in their own language when the divya dhavni spreads.

In the setup of Samavsaran there are eight bhoomiyan (sections). In the first seven bhumiyan very attractive and beautiful creations like drama, plays and gardens full of flowers etc are displayed. Generally mithyadrashti jeev and abhavya jeev remains busy in watching these. It is only few loyal jeev reaches in the eighth bhooni and gets opportunity to see the Arihant. In the eighth bhoomi is named “shree Mandap” which is in the last bhoomi. In this part there are 12 kothe/ sections are constructed where in the sitting arrangement is done as follows:-

1.    Gandhar and Muni etc

2.    Kalpavasi Deviyan

3.    Arykayen and shravikayen

4.    Jyotishi Deviyan

5.    Vayantar Deviyan

6.    Bhavanvasi Deviyan


7.    Bhavanvasi Dev

8.    Vayantar Dev

9.    Jyotishi Dev

10.  Kalpvasi Dev

11. Humen beings-Chakravorti kings etc

12. triyanch (Loin etc and animals birds)


The Samavsaran is 5000 dhanus above the ground level and circular in shape.  A set of steps comprising  Twenty thousand steps are provided from all the four directions. It is due to the Atishay of Tirthank that everyone can climb these steps without any efforts. In the middle of the Samavsaran there is Gandh KUti which is decorated with flags etc and in the center of the Gandh Kuti a decorative throne is placed where in Bhagwan sits keeping the gap of four fingers above the throne in the sky itself accompanied by all the eight pratiharya. Bhagwan faces the North or East but he is visible in all other directions too due to atishay of Kevaljnan.

In all the directions in front of gates of Samavsaran there are four Maan Stambhs. The height of these Maan stambhs is 12 times more than the height of Tirthankar. The mithya- drashti jeev (false-vision or delusion) do not want to see Bhagwan.  To some of the mithya- drashti (false-vision or delusion) jeev after seeing the Maan stambh their ego vanishes. That’s why these are called Maan Stambh. In the upper portion of the Maan stanbh the jin bimbs facing all the four directions are installed. This type of Maan stambh are installed in the Deva’s Bhawan and Aketrim Chaitalya’s as well.

Tirthankars do not teach anything new. But their presence in the world serves to awaken human beings to a unique knowledge (keval gyan) of reality. When Tirthankar attains the keval Gyan then he speaks in in a special kind of sound called 'divine sound' – divya-dhvani but there is no movement of lips, throat and tongue etc. Jains believe that the divya-dhvani is a special kind of sound which can be understood and interpret it in 718 language’s (18 main languages and 700 sub-main languages. This language can be understood in his own language which the listeners/all sentient beings understand.  The 'divine sound' – divya-dhvani never spread (called khirna) in absence of Gandhar because it is only Gandhars who possess the knowledge of “manah prye gyan- मन:प्रयय ज्ञान” with other four kind of gyan can thoroughly understand the divine sound and interpret the same which are eventually written down as scriptures. Tirthankar can hacve number of Gandhars. Bhagwan Adinath had 84 gandhar Bhagwan Mahavira had 11 gandhars. In all there were 1452 Gandhars with all the 24 Tirthankars of this era.

These days all such events with more minute details are reproduced before the house holders through the dramatic act played in the evening for creating awareness among the masses.

                                                                 Panch Kalyanak

Garbh & Janma Kalyanak    .

             Moksha (liberation) kalyanakas     

Picture Gallery

     Back to Home page









                                                                                                Contact: - JainPushp
                                                                                       Email: jainpushp01@yahoo.com

                                                   copy right
                                          All rights reserved